Skip Navigation

MLK Jr. Community Service Awards

The 2018 Martin Luther King, Jr. Award for Community Service recognizes outstanding commitments to volunteer service by members of the Johns Hopkins community. All faculty, staff, employees, graduate students, and retirees are eligible to be nominated to receive this award.

Community Service awards will be presented at the Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemoration Celebration on January 18, 2019 at noon in the Turner Auditorium on the East Baltimore Campus to those individuals who demonstrate the same spirit of volunteerism, citizenship, and activism that characterized the life of Dr. King, who personified a deep faith in what people working together could accomplish for themselves and their nation.

At this 37th annual event, keynote speaker Derrick Johnson, president and CEO of the NAACP, will address the theme, “Celebrating the Power of Voices.” And, Unified Voices, a choir of local residents and Johns Hopkins employees celebrating its 25th anniversary, will perform.

Other event highlights include recognition of eight faculty and staff members as recipients of the 2018 Martin Luther King Jr. Award for Community Service. Read how each of these honorees are making a difference.  

For your convenience, you will be able to view the commemoration online. You can view the event live or on demand using these instructions.

2018 Recipients of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Service Award

MLK Group 2018

Pictured clockwise: Jerrell Bratcher, Linda Johnson-Harvey, Tatia Gilstrap, Lois Eldred, Caróle Campbell, Kelly Koay, Karen Schneider and Maurisha White.

Jerrell Bratcher, administrative coordinator, The Johns Hopkins University

Caróle Campbell, care manager and clinical team lead, Johns Hopkins Health Care

Lois Eldred, P.A.-C., Dr.P.H.assistant professor, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Tatia Gilstrap, quality specialist, Sibley Memorial Hospital

Linda Johnson-Harvey, administrative coordinator, The Johns Hopkins Hospital

Kelly Koay, M.D., physician, Johns Hopkins Community Physicians

Karen Schneider, M.D.assistant professor of medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Maurisha White, medical office supervisor, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center

Johns Hopkins's annual commemoration celebrates the legacy of Martin Luther King, Jr. by honoring community service by members of JHU and JHH/JHHS who demonstrate the same spirit of volunteerism and citizenship that characterized the life of Dr. King. Throughout his life, Dr. King had a deep faith in what people working together could accomplish for themselves and for their nation.

Who is eligible?

All faculty, staff, graduate students and retirees of the university, all staff, employees and retirees of the hospital and health system, and persons regularly assigned to work at Hopkins through affiliated organizations are eligible to receive the award. Members of the Martin Luther King Jr. nomination review panels, executive committee, and celebration committee are not eligible.

How does the nomination process work?

Anyone may nominate an individual who has volunteered time and energy during 2018 to benefit others. Previous recipients may be re-nominated on the basis of a new volunteer activity performed in 2018. Self-nominations are accepted. All nominations must be submitted on the nomination form and include the following information. 

  1. Nominee's name, address, telephone number, position, and department in which he or she is currently employed.
  2. A detailed description of the community service the nominee performed; the impact of the volunteer work; any special qualities, creativity and/or resourcefulness the nominee demonstrated; and length of volunteer involvement. (You may want to review the information with the nominee to ensure that you have the most accurate information regarding his or her volunteer work and the impact of the volunteerism.)
  3. Reasons why the nominee should be recognized by this award.
  4. Nominator's name, address, and telephone number.

Nominations for 2019 will open in August 2019.

What are the criteria for selection?

The nomination review panels will base their recommendations on the nominee's accomplishments achieved through voluntary community service and the impact of that service on the surrounding community. Panels will consider special qualities demonstrated by the nominee and the nominee's resourcefulness while performing community service. The frequency of the activity as well as the length of service will also be considered. Preference will be given to community service performed locally; however, panels will consider service performed elsewhere.

Who chooses the recipients?

Two nomination review panels, one composed of university employees and one composed of health system employees, will evaluate the nominations. The panels will make their selections and forward their recommendations to the Martin Luther King Jr. executive committee for final review and approval. All nominators and award recipients will be notified in November.


Johns Hopkins Martin Luther King Jr. Commemoration Celebration Keynote Speakers

2017 - Dr. Robert Higgins 
2016 - Dr. Levi Garraway and Denyce Graves 
2015 - Morris Dees (See Commemeration Recording)1999 - Julian Bond
2014 - Freeman A. Hrabowski1998 - Levi Watkins and Benjamin Carson
2013 - Benjamin Jealous1997 - Kweisi Mfume
2012 - Martin Luther King, III1996 - The Rev. Bernice King
2011 - Shirley Sherrod and Regina Benjamin1995 -  Sweet Honey in the Rock
2010 - Lou Gossett, Jr.
1994 - Yolanda King, Ossie Davie, and Ruby Dee
2009 - Lynn Whitfield and Congressman Elijah E. Cummings1993 - Johnetta Coles and Maya Angelou
2008 - Levi Watkins1990 - Stevie Wonder
2007 - Maya Angelou1988 -  Rosa Parks and Ralph Abernathy
2006 - James Earl Jones1987 - Zenani Mendela and Benjamin Hooks
2005 - Rev. Jesse Jackson1986 - The Rev. Desmond Tutu
2004 - Cicely Tyson1985 - Harry Belafonte
2003 - Danny Glover and Harry Belafonte, Ideals Award Recipient1984 - Andre Young
2002- Coretta Scott King1983 - Coretta Scott King
2001 - John Lewis and Dick Gregory, Ideals Award Recipient1982 - Martin Luther King, III and Bernard Lee
2000 - Taylor Branch 


Updated 1/2/2019