Skip Navigation
Community Programs

Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemoration and Community Service Awards

The Johns Hopkins University and The Johns Hopkins Hospital/Health Systems proudly presents the Martin Luther King Jr. Commemoration and Community Service Awards.

Johns Hopkins' annual commemoration celebrates the legacy of Martin Luther King, Jr. by honoring community service by members of JHU and JHH/JHHS who demonstrate the same spirit of volunteerism and citizenship that characterized the life of Dr. King. Throughout his life, Dr. King had a deep faith in what people working together could accomplish for themselves and for their nation.

The Event

The 2014 Johns Hopkins Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemoration will take place on Friday, January 10, 2014 at Noon in the Turner Auditorium on the East Baltimore campus. In addition to the presentation of the Community Service Awards, the keynote speaker will be Freeman A. Hrabowski, President of the University of Maryland Baltimore County.

Who May Attend?

The Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemoration event is open to all Johns Hopkins employees, faculty, staff, and students. The program will end at approximately 1:30 pm.

Additional Viewing Options

The event also will be simulcast to Homewood in the Great Hall/Levering Buildling, All Children's Hospital, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, Johns Hopkins at Wyman Park Sheikh Zayed Tower-Chevy Chase Bank Auditorium, Sibley Memorial Hospital, Suburban Hospital. A link to the video of the event will be available after January 10th.

Johns Hopkins Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemoration Celebration keynote speakers have included:

2013- Benjamin Jealous
2012-  Martin Luther King, III
2011 - Shirley Sherrod, Regina Benjamin
2010 - Lou Gossett Jr.
2009 - Lynn Whitfield, Congressman Elijah E. Cummings
2008 - Levi Watkins
2007 - Maya Angelou
2006 - James Earl Jones
2005 - Rev. Jesse Jackson
2004 - Cicely Tyson
2003 - Danny Glover & Harry Belafonte, Ideals Award Recipient
2002 - Coretta Scott King
2001 - John Lewis and Dick Gregory, Ideals Award Recipient
2000 - Taylor Branch
1999 - Julian Bond

1998-  Levi Watkins, Benjamin Carson
1997-  Kweisi Mfume
1996 - The Rev. Bernice King
1995 - Sweet Honey in the Rock
1994 - Yolanda King, Ossie Davie and Ruby Dee
1993 - Johnetta Coles and Maya Angelou
1990 - Stevie Wonder
1988 - Rosa Parks and Ralph Abernathy
1987 - Zenani Mandela and Benjamin Hooks
1986 - The Rev. Desmond Tutu
1985 - Harry Belafonte
1984 - Andrew Young
1983 - Coretta Scott King
1982 - Martin Luther King III and Bernard Lee