Skip Navigation
Community Programs
  

OTHER PROGRAMS
Adopt-A-Family
Blood Drives
Clothing Drives
Holiday Turkey

Professional Clothing Drives at Johns Hopkins

Donate new and gently used professional clothing to help formerly homeless, disabled or low income men and women just entering or re-entering the workforce.

Fall & Winter 2013 Dates: October 1- 15

Donations for the fall and winter drive will benefit the employment programs at the Center for Urban Families and the Kingswill Providence Charity Organization.

Recent recipients of professional clothing donations include the employment programs and services of: Paul's Place, Suited to Succeed, Housing the Homeless Initiative, League for People with Disabilities, Million Dollar Man, Bea Gaddy's Women and Children's Center, Success in Style, Project PLASE, the Maryland Foster Youth Resource Center, Hand in Hand Baltimore/Alternative Directions, Inc., International Rescue Committee, St. Vincent de Paul of Baltimore, Maryland New Directions and Helping Up Mission.

Maryland New Directions staff and clients thank Johns Hopkins employees for their generosity … “Thank you so much for your recent clothing donations! Your overwhelming generosity has already helped over 30 clients from our newest group find appropriate interview and job attire. We are thankful to have neighbors like you in the community…” – Erika Milenkovic, Resource Development Specialist, Maryland New Directions

Please visit Maryland New Directions website to learn more about Hopkins' impact on the community.

What Kind of Clothing Can Be Donated?

It is helpful to the agencies if you donate clothing appropriate to the season of the collection, since agencies generally have very limited storage space.

Donated clothing should be:

  • New or gently used
  • Clean (dry-cleaned or laundered)
  • Not stained or damaged
  • Appropriate to wear to the office, including:
    • Suits
    • Tailored Separates
    • Blouses, shirts
    • "Business casual" attire including khaki pants (not jeans), nice looking sweaters, polo shirts, etc.
    • Ties, scarves
    • Shoes in very good condition

The general rule is: if you would not want to wear it because of its condition, don't donate it to someone else who needs to make a good first impression when looking for a job.

Where Can I Drop Off Clothing for Pick Up?

Clothing is picked up from several locations throughout the university. Please separate the men's and women's clothing before you drop it off and place the clothing in different, marked bags. Also, please do not place clothing on hangers as they make pick-up and delivery challenging and dangerous.

Please deliver clothing to the appropriate drop-off site starting October 1 and no earlier.

PLEASE CONTACT THE APPROPRIATE PERSON LISTED BELOW TO ARRANGE A DROP-OFF TIME FOR YOUR CLOTHING DONATION:

Drop Off Location

Contact

Phone

Homewood, Garland Hall Room 72

D. Lynn O'Neil
dlynn@jhu.edu

410-516-8421

Homewood - San Martin Center, 2nd Floor Lobby

Heather Dalby
hdalby1@jhu.edu

410-516-4130
East Baltimore Campus
School of Nursing Building, 5th Floor, 516
Matt Casse
410-614-3711

Johns Hopkins at Eastern
Suite C130

Carolyn Cook
carolyn@jhu.edu

443-997-6811

Mount Washington, IT @ JH
Davis Building, C105

Hank Potter
hank@jhu.edu

410-735-4118

Mount Washington, CTY
McAuley Hall, Suite 400

Wanda Royster
wanda.royster@jhu.edu

410-735-6030

Peabody Campus
9 Centre St.

Laura Brooks
lbrooks@peabody.jhu.edu

410-234-4559

Bayview Campus
Alpha Commons, 1st Floor, HR

Karen Jones
kjones94@jhmi.edu

410-550-1176

Carey Business School
Career Service Ste. 12th Floor

Christy Murray
christy@jhu.edu

410-234-9274

Keswick Campus
N-2500, North Building

Kathy Bauer
kathy.bauer@transwestern.net

443-997-0680


For general questions, contact Brandi Monroe-Payton bmonroe6@jhu.edu or 443-997-7000. Thank you for supporting the community with your donation.